Skip to content

Spiritual Depression: Its Causes and Cure

March 21, 2011

Ray Ortlund gives the following quote from D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones’ book, Spiritual Depression on all that matters:

We must think of suffering in a new way, we must face everything in a new way.  And the way in which we face it all is by reminding ourselves that the Holy Spirit is in us.  There is the future, there is the high calling, there is the persecution, there is the opposition, there is the enemy.  I see it all.  I must admit also that I am weak, that I lack the necessary powers and propensities.  But instead of stopping there . . . I say, ‘But the Spirit of God is in me.  God has given me his Holy Spirit.’ . . . What matters . . . is not what is true of us but what is true of Him.

From → Christian Living

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

